Lars Zimmermann

After following the conventional path of studying architecture, Lars devotes himself to creating non-conventional spaces: that is, emotionally charged places of encounter, both for people and brands. At JES, he plans and designs new spaces and sustainable concepts.
 

After studying architecture in Hamburg, Lars Zimmermann lived and worked in the Netherlands for 10 years, a period from which he benefitted both professionally and personally. Since 15 years, he creates emotionally charged places of encounter for people and brands. These spaces are profoundly moving and are devised as starting points for something new. His special interest lies in urban mobility. Germany, he finds, has a lot to learn from the Netherlands. At JES, he manages projects focussing on sustainability and mobility.

 

For me, Socialtecture means putting people and their needs at the heart of the building process.

How do you want to make a change?

Winston Churchill said, “We shape our buildings, thereafter they shape us.” A city is a living, diverse and colourful entity. A city is a network and a structure. A city is our daily environment and it determines how we live and act. Why do we feel comfortable here, but not there? What defines a lively and liveable city? Targeted interventions can improve a city’s or a place’s quality of life, and this is something where I want to get actively involved.

What makes co-creative work at JES so special?

I enjoy working with highly motivated, creative and professional project partners. They are all driven by the vision that we can change our lives and environment positively.

Social Media

Weitere Links

Lars Zimmermann

Lars hat zwar klassisch Architektur studiert, erschafft als Architekt aber ganz unklassische Orte: emotional aufgeladene Räume der Begegnung, für Menschen und für Marken. Mit diesem Ansatz plant und entwirft er ebenfalls bei JES neue Raum- und Nachhaltigkeitskonzepte.

Lars Zimmermann hat nach seinem Studium der Architektur in Hamburg fast 10 Jahre in den Niederlanden gelebt und gearbeitet. Diese Jahre haben ihn sowohl inhaltlich als auch menschlich sehr geprägt: Seit mehr als 15 Jahren erzeugt er emotional aufgeladene Orte der Begegnung, die für Marken und Menschen gleichermaßen zugänglich und bedeutsam sind. Das heißt Orte, die tiefgreifend etwas bewegen. Orte, die die Keimzelle für etwas Neues sind. Sein besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf dem Thema urbaner Mobilität, wobei Deutschland noch enorm von den Niederlanden lernen kann, wie Lars immer wieder gern betont. Bei JES leitet er daher Projekte mit dem Schwerpunkt: neue Nachhaltigkeits- und Mobilitätskonzepte.

 

Socialtecture bedeutet für mich endlich wieder den Menschen und seine Bedürfnisse beim Bauen in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen.

 

Wie willst Du die Welt verbessern?

“We shape our buildings, thereafter they shape us.” Winston Churchill. Stadt ist lebendig, divers, bunt. Stadt ist ein Netzwerk und eine Struktur. Stadt ist unser tägliches Umfeld und bestimmt maßgeblich, wie wir leben und agieren. Warum fühlen wir uns an dem einen Ort wohl, an dem anderen nicht? Was macht eine lebendige, lebenswerte Stadt aus? Gezielte Interventionen können die Lebensqualität einer Stadt, eines Ortes erheblich verbessern und das ist etwas, woran ich aktiv mitwirken möchte.

 

Was ist für Dich das Besondere am co-kreativen Arbeiten mit JES?

Das spannende Arbeiten mit hochmotivierten, kreativen und professionellen Projektpartnern, die alle das Ziel eint, unser Leben und unser Umfeld positiv zu verändern.