Michael Dolz

Michael is sociologist, lecturer and expert on resilience. At JES, he inquires into the fundamental questions behind social change and develops meta-strategies for urban development.
 

Michael Dolz’s expertise covers social science, on-site networking with stakeholders and the identification, development and usage of large-scale correlations. For already 11 years he provides valuable insights to his clients, a diverse group covering all real estate asset categories. On the European market, he accompanied the conceptualisation and implementation of land-intensive district development programmes. His other interests include interior design for new work and retail contexts. At JES, he looks after qualitative space analyses, empirical social science and placemaking studies, the targeting of users and social milieus, and the launch of stakeholder-management processes. What matters to Michael is finding highly individualised best solutions for spaces, keeping in mind all their dimensions, both in terms of district level and real estate. He is a value generator and local activist. He is passionate about places where people take initiative—according to him the only way to generate a new real estate economy.

 

For me, Socialtecture addresses a way of conceptualising architecture and urban planning in terms of social science. It should be put to use through, with and for people.

 

What is your vision of urban planning?

We must address how to effectively connect people from different influence levels. Social space creates perpetual spaces that are worth living. Such spaces must be open for transformation. First and foremost, it’s about turning people and their needs to the focal point of all our concepts. Users are people. Investors and developers are people, too, and institutions and administrations are also made up by people. The city of tomorrow must include all these different groups so they can exert a harmonic and meaningful influence, and grow on each other.

 

What makes co-creative work at JES so special?

Collaboration beats silo thinking. Empathy and intuition beat bureaucratic formalism. In relying on meshing competences and based on a shared set of values, this allows us to live up to the highest standards of urban planning and architecture.

Michael Dolz

Michael ist Soziologe, Dozent und Resilienz-Realizer. Bei JES kümmert sich der Kieler Sozialwissenschaftler um grundlegende Fragen des gesellschaftlichen Wandels und die Konzeption übergeordneter Strategien für urbane Entwicklungsprozesse.

Michael Dolz ist Experte für Sozialforschung, die Vernetzung mit Stakeholdern vor Ort und die Identifizierung, Erschließung sowie Nutzung großer übergeordneter Zusammenhänge. Seit mittlerweile 11 Jahren begleitet er Auftraggeber – in allen Immobilien-Assetklassen – auf europäischen Märkten bei der Entwicklung und Implementierung von Immobilienstrategien: Von flächenintensiven Quartiersentwicklungen bis hin zu Raumdesigns in New Work oder Retail-Kontexten. Bei JES ist er mitverantwortlich für qualitative Raumanalysen, empirische Sozialforschung und Placemaking, Milieu-, und User-Targetting sowie den Anschub von Stakeholder-Management Prozessen. Michael ist es wichtig den individuellen Best Fit eines Ortes auf der Stadt-, Stadtteil-, Quartiers- und Immobilienebene zu finden. Er ist begeisterter Sinnstifter und Lokalaktivist; brennt für Orte mit Selbststeuerungskraft durch Menschen und ist der festen Überzeugung, dass dies der Nährboden der neuen Immobilienwirtschaft ist.

 

Socialtecture beschreibt für mich einen Weg, um Architektur und Städtebau endlich als Gesellschaftswissenschaft begreifbar zu machen und sinnvoll zur Anwendung zu bringen: durch, mit und für Menschen.

 

Was ist Deine Vision für die Gestaltung von Stadt? 

Es muss darum gehen Menschen unterschiedlichster Einflussebenen substantiell in Beziehungen und in gegenseitigen Austausch zu bringen. Der Sozialraum macht den zeitüberdauernd lebenswerten Raum. Raum muss dabei wandelbar sein. Es geht im Kern darum Menschen und ihre Bedürfnisse zum Ausgangspunkt aller Überlegungen zu machen. Nutzer sind Menschen. Investoren und Entwickler sind Menschen, Institutionen und Verwaltungen bestehen aus Menschen. Die Stadt von morgen braucht Prozesse, in denen sie alle harmonisch und bedeutsam zusammenwirken und gemeinsam wachsen können.

 

Was ist für Dich das Besondere am co-kreativen Arbeiten mit JES?

Kollaboration schlägt hier Silodenken, Empathie und Intuition schlagen Prozessformalismen. Wechselseitig ineinandergreifende Kompetenzen, basierend auf dem gleichen Wertekonsens, ermöglichen das Thema Stadt/Architektur in seiner ganzen Komplexität wirklich und ganzheitlich sinnvoll zu bearbeiten.