Social Media

Xiaowen Xu

Xiaowen holds a degree in city planning and urban design from China. Her focus lies on the possibilities of urban renewal and sustainable developments. This also brought her to Hamburg. As a new resident of Rothenburgsort, she oversees JES projects based in Hamburg’s east.

 

From early age, Xiaowen Xu showed an interest in designing urban spaces and the development of sustainability. She wrote her Master’s thesis in the interdisciplinary course Urban Design, where she addressed the transformations in China’s harbour areas. Currently, she looks into Hamburg’s city development projects, focussing on sustainable construction, innovation methods and temporary forms of occupation. At JES, Xiaowen contributes her expertise in analysis, structuring and documentation.

 

For me, Socialtecture means developing a new perspective on architecture and urban planning: people rather than financial capital are placed at the heart of our projects. Here, not only experts and investors meet, but also users, who can contribute their own unique perspectives. Material and space are given a human touch.

 

What is your vision of urban planning?

A great city should offer opportunities to lead sustainable and diverse lifestyles. Such as city should be a complete social-economic system that can answer quickly to new needs that arise among its inhabitants. That’s how a city can help people discover their own potential.

 

What makes co-creative work at JES so special?

As a young urban planner and researcher, I find working at JES very meaningful. Working with a team of people from different backgrounds helps me develop a more in-depth notion of cities and urban development. That’s quite different from how it works at conventional planning offices. Here, we develop new perspectives on architecture and on new forms of work. This, in turn, stimulates ideas for a sustainable, environment- and people-friendly world.

Xiaowen Xu

Xiaowen studierte Stadtplanung und Urban Design in China. Ihr Fokus auf die Möglichkeiten der Stadterneuerung und nachhaltigen Entwicklung brachten sie 2014 nach Hamburg. Bei JES arbeitet die Neu-Rothenburgsorterin an Projekten im Hamburger Osten.

Xiaowen Xu war schon immer an der Gestaltung urbaner Räume und der Fortentwicklung von Nachhaltigkeit interessiert. In ihrer Masterarbeit im interdisziplinären Studiengang Urban Design beschäftigte sie sich mit der Transformation von Hafengebieten in China. Zurzeit engagiert sie sich in Hamburger Stadtentwicklungsprojekten für die Ausarbeitung nachhaltiger Bauweisen, Erneuerungsmethoden und temporären Nutzungsformen. Bei JES wirkt Xiaowen in verschiedenen Projekten mit ihrer Expertise für Analysen, Strukturierung und Dokumentation.

 

Socialtecture bedeutet für mich eine neue Perspektive für die Architektur und die Stadtplanung: Der Mensch wird vor dem Kapital ins Zentrum gerückt. Nicht nur Experten oder Investoren treffen zusammen, sondern auch die Nutzer können sich austauschen. So wird selbst das Material und die Räumlichkeit menschlicher gestaltet.

 

Was ist Deine Vision für die Gestaltung von Stadt?

Eine gute Stadt sollte Gelegenheiten bieten, sein Leben nachhaltig und vielfältig auszuüben. Sie muss immer ein vollständiges sozialökonomisches System sein, mit der Fähigkeit, schnell auf neue Bedürfnisse der Anwohner zu reagieren. So schafft eine Stadt es auch, dass ihre Bewohner mehr Potenzial für ihr Leben entdecken.

 

Was ist für Dich das Besondere am co-kreativen Arbeiten mit JES?

Für mich als junge Stadtplanerin und Stadtforscherin hat die Arbeit bei JES große Bedeutung: Durch das Teamwork mit Leuten aus unterschiedlichen Branchen kann ich ein tieferes Verständnis von Stadt und urbaner Entwicklung bekommen – ganz anders als in klassischen Planungsbüros. Hier werden neben neuen Perspektiven auf Architektur, auch neue Arbeitsweisen entwickelt und damit innovative Ideen für eine nachhaltige, umwelt- und menschenfreundliche Welt.